We are a beacon in the tax darkness!

Some questions come up again and again in our day-to-day routine at the firm. Here is an overview of the classic ones we get together with practical answers.*

If you would like to know more or have your own particular questions, please do not hesitate to get in touch with us at any time.

International Tax Law

1. When am I required to pay taxes in Germany?

You have unlimited tax liability in Germany if your residence (§ 8 of the Fiscal Code of Germany (AO)) or your habitual abode (§ 9 AO) is in Germany.
If you do not reside in Germany, you may have limited tax liability if you earn domestic – i.e. German – income in the context of § 49 of the German Income Tax Act (EStG).
Moreover, a tax liability may also apply as a result of special standards, e.g. German Foreign Tax Law (Außensteuergesetz).

2. What is a fiscal domicile?

A fiscal domicile is the place at which someone “maintains a dwelling under circumstances from which it may be inferred that they will maintain and use such dwelling”.

Simple habitability with water and power supply is sufficient. Furthermore, you must have power over the keys to your domicile. A room at a friend’s place which is at your permanent disposal or a flat which is only used sporadically during the term of a secondment may also qualify as such.

A hotel room, on the other hand, is not normally considered to be a residence. Even if the flat is rented out during the secondment, this no longer constitutes a residence since it is no longer available for one’s own use.

Cases in actual practice are often unclear, and it is necessary to take a close look at the individual circumstances.

3. What is a habitual abode in tax law?

“Persons shall have their habitual abode at the place at which they are present under circumstances indicating that their stay at that place or in that area is not merely temporary. An unbroken stay of not less than six months’ duration shall be invariably and from the beginning of such stay regarded as a habitual abode in the territory of application of this Code; brief interruptions shall be excepted.”
The time stipulation of six months does not apply where the stay in Germany is undertaken exclusively for visiting, recuperation, curative or similar private purposes and does not last more than one year.

4. What happens if I give up my residence?

If you no longer have your residence or habitual abode in Germany but have domestic income (e.g. resulting from rentals), you will be subject to limited tax liability in future.

If this is not the case, you are generally no longer required to pay taxes in Germany. Albeit, there may be a tax liability in some constellations, e.g. as a result of the German Foreign Tax Law (Außensteuergesetz), which will require clarification by an expert.

Furthermore, some tax-related benefits, e.g. the child allowance, use unlimited tax liability as a basis. These are lost if you give up your residence.

5. I have given notice of departure from Germany. In so doing, have I also given up my fiscal domicile?

No. Merely giving notice of departure from a residence within the scope of the Registration Law (Melderecht) does not lead to there no longer being a residence with regard to taxes (cf. fiscal domicile).

6. Do I receive the child allowance abroad?

The entitlement to the child allowance is generally linked to unlimited tax liability. So if you keep your residence, you will continue to be entitled to the child allowance. When you give up your residence, you lose your entitlement to the child allowance unless you have employment which is subject to social insurance contributions.

Please note however that in any case you are to notify your family benefits office (Familienkasse) about the move abroad.

7. Do I have to pay church tax (Kirchensteuer) in Germany if I am a foreigner?

If you belong to a religious group which is entitled to tax, you have to pay church tax.

If you are Protestant, you are only required to pay church tax if you declare that you belong to a Protestant church in Germany.

On the other hand, if you were baptised Roman Catholic, you are required to pay church tax in Germany since the Roman Catholic church is a global universal church. It is of no consequence whether you declare membership in Germany or whether the Roman Catholic church in your home country receives church tax.

8. Registering at your bank as a non-resident taxpayer

If you are no longer subject to unlimited tax liability in Germany, then you are considered to be a non-resident taxpayer. You should let your bank know this since in many cases it is possible to avoid the deduction of capital gains tax on your capital earnings.

9. What is the significance of the centre of vital interests in the case of double taxation treaties?

Double taxation treaties regulate the allocation of taxes between two countries. It is assumed for this that there is a country of residence and a country of activity.

The country of residence is the country in which you have a residence. If, however, you have a residence in both countries, the country which is the centre of your vital interests is considered to be the country of residence. Present and future economic and personal criteria are evaluated, whereby the latter are more greatly weighted.

10. I’ve been sent abroad by my employer. Am I still required to pay taxes in Germany?

That depends. If you still have your residence or habitual abode in Germany, you will continue to be subject to unlimited tax liability. If you no longer have your residence or habitual abode in Germany but have domestic income (e.g. resulting from rentals), you will be subject to limited tax liability in future.

If this is not the case, you are generally no longer required to pay taxes in Germany. Albeit, there may be a tax liability in some constellations, e.g. as a result of the German Foreign Tax Law (Außensteuergesetz), which will require clarification by an expert.

11. In the case of a secondment, where do I declare taxes on my salary?

In general, the country of activity has tax jurisdiction. However, this does not apply if:

  • The 183-day limit is not exceeded
  • Wages are not paid by or for an employer who resides in the country of activity
  • Wages are not borne by a commercial operation which the employer maintains in the country of activity

Ascertainment of the 183-day limit varies from one double taxation treaty to another and can be based either on the tax year, the calendar year or a 12-month period.

If these conditions are met cumulatively, tax jurisdiction returns to the country of residence.

In this case, too, there are peculiarities in many double taxation treaties, e.g. for cross-border commuters, supervisory board members, executives as well as in the case of general reversion clauses.

When determining how to count the days, you need to ensure that the actual days spent in the country in question are counted. For instance, if you were in France from 1 March to 31 August (184 days), you exceed the 183-day limit. Any interim holiday in another country is to be deducted from this however!

12. I was in the country in question for less than 183 days. Do I continue to declare taxes in Germany?

No. As shown here , the 183-day limit is just one of three conditions which must be met.

13. I was in the country in question for longer than 182 days. Do I declare taxes abroad?

Generally yes, unless there is a regulation which applies to this exception.

14. What does exemption with progression mean?

Exemption with progression means that some income may by tax-free but is considered for the determination of your individual tax rate. This income increases your tax rate, which is ultimately applied to taxable income in Germany.

15. What is the Edict on Employment Abroad (Auslandstätigkeitserlass)?

The Edict on Employment Abroad (ATE) grants tax exemption on wages to employees with unlimited tax liability who work for their domestic employer for at least three months in a foreign country for which there is no double taxation treaty.

This only applies to work in connection with setting up or maintaining commodities, finding or extracting natural resources, development aid or consulting in these areas.

Asset and succession planning

1. Formalities

a. Do I have to report my inheritance/gift to the tax authorities?

Even if the tax exemption limit is not exceeded in the case of a gift or inheritance, every acquisition must be reported to the corresponding tax authorities within a period of three months after gaining knowledge of the asset received. In the case of a gift, this applies to the donor as well as to the donee.

However, reporting is not mandatory if the acquisition is as a result of a disposition by will initiated by a German probate court or a German notary public since the tax authorities are notified by these offices in such a case.

b. Do I have to file an inheritance tax declaration? / Do I have to file a gift tax declaration?

You are initially only required to report  the gift / inheritance to the tax authorities. You are not required to file an inheritance tax declaration or gift tax declaration until ordered to do so by the tax authorities.

Albeit, there may also be tax obligations abroad as a result of the place of residence, citizenship or foreign assets (e.g. interest in a closed foreign fund). The USA in particular has very strict deadlines which are enforced by means of heavy fines.

c. How do the tax authorities find out that I have inherited?

Many public offices and institutions such as banks, courts and notaries public are required to submit a corresponding notification to the inheritance tax authorities. In addition, the inheritance tax authorities can obtain information themselves.

d. Which tax authorities are responsible for inheritance tax?

Many local tax authorities have ceded their jurisdiction for inheritance and gift tax. Thus, the Fulda tax authorities are responsible for Frankfurt am Main. Please use the following link to find out about jurisdictions for Hessen:

https://service.hessen.de/html/Ansprechpartnersuche-7652.htm

2. Calculation of inheritance tax / gift tax

a. What tax categories apply to the taxation of inheritances and gifts?

Depending on the personal relationship of the acquirer to the bequeather or donor, one differentiates between three tax categories:

Tax category I:    Spouse, registered partner in a civil union, children and stepchildren and descendants of these children and stepchildren, parents and forefathers in the case of gains acquired by will

Tax category II: Parents and forefathers in the case of gifts, siblings and the children of siblings, stepparents and parents-in-law, children-in-law, divorced spouses

Tax category III: All other acquirers

b. How high are the tax rates in the case of inheritance tax and gift tax?

The tax rates are dependent on the tax categories and amount to between 7 % and 30 % in Tax category I, between 15 % and 43 % in Tax category II, and between 30 % and 50 % in Tax category III.

https://www.gesetze-im-internet.de/erbstg_1974/__19.html

c. How high are the tax exemption limits in the case of inheritance tax and gift tax?

Spouses and partners in civil unions have a tax exemption limit of € 500,000 and children have a tax exemption limit of € 400,000.

Furthermore, there are numerous tax exemptions on substantive grounds, e.g. for household effects, other movable property (e.g. vehicles) or the family home.

Please use the following link to find out about tax exemption limits for other acquirers:

https://www.gesetze-im-internet.de/erbstg_1974/__16.html

d. Must earlier gifts also be taken into consideration for calculating the inheritance tax or gift tax?

For the calculation of the current tax, for both inheritance tax and gift tax, all previous gifts you have received from the same person over the past ten years must be taken into consideration.

e. Can I claim the costs of inheritance in the inheritance tax declaration?

Yes, the costs of inheritance, e.g. funeral costs, court costs, tax accountant costs, costs for expert reports, can be claimed as inheritance liabilities in the inheritance tax declaration. Since the law governing the costs of inheritance specify a fixed amount of € 10,300, you only need to declare costs which exceed this amount.

3. Inheritance tax planning and emergency measures

a. Is there any way to reduce the inheritance tax or avoid it altogether?

Yes! If planning is done in a timely manner, the tax load can often be greatly minimized or in some cases avoided altogether. This can be accomplished by means of appropriate will planning, optimum use of tax exemptions, repeated gifts over a longer period of time or other options.

b. When should inheritance planning be started?

The more complex and extensive the estate and family situation is, the earlier planning should start. While younger people can only make plans for an emergency situation, when people reach their mid-fifties at the latest inheritance planning should be actively broached and, if required, initial steps should be taken towards its implementation.

c. I’ve inherited money which was earned under the table – what do I have to do?

On the one hand, you are required to retrospectively declare the earnings for which taxes were evaded to the tax authorities and pay the income tax owing. On the other hand, you also need to specify the earnings for which taxes were evaded in the inheritance tax declaration and, if the tax exemption limit is exceeded, pay inheritance tax as well.

If you fail to make this retrospective declaration, you yourself are committing tax evasion.

d. Is it possible to optimize taxes even after the inheritance case is open?

As long as you act fast and do not claim the inheritance yet, e.g. by means of appropriate action, there are often structuring options available even after an inheritance case is initiated.

The popular and frequently used Berlin Testament can lead to considerable tax disadvantages, which however can often still be minimized even after the death of the first spouse.

4. Inheritance tax/Gift tax and foreign countries

a. Am I required to pay taxes in Germany if I am a foreigner?

If the bequeather or heir, or donor or donee had his/her residence  or habitual abode  in Germany, then the entire inheritance is subject to German inheritance tax. The nationality is not relevant in this regard.

However, German citizens who have relinquished their German residence for fewer than five years are also subject to unlimited tax liability.

Those in Germany who are not subject to unlimited tax liability are at least subject to limited tax liability with regard to their domestic assets.

b. I have inherited property abroad. Do I have to pay inheritance tax in both countries?

Whether or not taxation applies in the other country depends first of all on the laws of that other country. If this is the case, then the question to ask is how to avoid double taxation. In contrast to the case with tax on earnings, Germany has only concluded double taxation treaties for the handling of inheritance and gift tax with a few other countries. Therefore, there is a risk of double taxation.

If there is no double taxation treaty, in many cases it is possible to offset the foreign tax against the German tax. However, this is not always possible, and more importantly not always possible to the full extent!

c. With which countries does Germany have a double taxation treaty for inheritance and gift tax?

In contrast with the case of double taxation treaties on income, Germany only has five double taxation treaties which govern inheritance tax. These are with Denmark, France, Greece, Switzerland and the USA. Only three of these, namely the treaties with Denmark, France and the USA, also apply to gifts.

Moreover, the “normal” double taxation treaty with Sweden also contains provisions concerning the taxation of inheritances and gifts.

* The information and answers provided here are in part greatly simplified owing to the highly complex and convoluted nature of the subject. Therefore, it is only possible to give a general explanation. Every individual case must always be separately analysed and assessed in detail.

footerlogo

Bringen wir Licht ins Steuerdunkel!

Manche Fragen werden uns in unserem Kanzleialltag besonders häufig gestellt.
Hier finden Sie auf einen Blick praktische Antworten auf unsere Klassiker.*
Falls Sie mehr wissen möchten oder individuelle Fragen haben, wenden Sie sich
natürlich gerne jederzeit persönlich an uns.

Internationales Steuerrecht

1. Wann bin ich in Deutschland steuerpflichtig?

Sie sind in Deutschland unbeschränkt steuerpflichtig, wenn Sie Ihren Wohnsitz (§ 8 AO) oder Ihren gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt (§9 AO) in Deutschland haben.
Sofern Sie keinen Wohnsitz in Deutschland haben, können Sie der beschränkten Steuerpflicht unterliegen, sofern Sie inländische – d.h. deutsche – Einkünfte i.S.d. § 49 EStG erzielen.
Des Weiteren kann eine Steuerpflicht auch aufgrund von Spezialnormen (z. B. Außensteuergesetz) greifen.

2. Was ist ein steuerlicher Wohnsitz?

Einen steuerlichen Wohnsitz hat jemand dort, „wo er eine Wohnung unter Umständen innehat, die darauf schließen lassen, dass er die Wohnung beibehalten und nutzen wird.“

Hierfür reicht eine schlichte Bewohnbarkeit mit Wasser- und Stromversorgung aus. Des Weiteren müssen Sie die Schlüsselgewalt über die Wohnung haben. Hierfür kann auch ein dauerhaft zur Verfügung gestelltes Zimmer bei Freunden oder eine während der Entsendung nur sporadisch genutzte Wohnung gelten.

Regelmäßig nicht als Wohnsitz gilt hingegen ein Hotelzimmer. Auch wenn die Wohnung während der Entsendung vermietet wird, stellt diese keinen Wohnsitz mehr dar, da sie ja zur eigenen Nutzung nicht mehr zur Verfügung steht.

In der Praxis sind die Fälle häufig unklar, so dass der jeweilige Sachverhalt genau geprüft werden muss.

3. Was ist ein gewöhnlicher Aufenthalt im Steuerrecht?

„Den gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt hat jemand dort, wo er sich unter Umständen aufhält, die erkennen lassen, dass er an diesem Ort oder in diesem Gebiet nicht vorübergehend verweilt. Als gewöhnlicher Aufenthalt ist stets von Beginn an ein zeitlich zusammenhängender Aufenthalt von mehr als sechs Monaten Dauer anzusehen; kurzfristige Unterbrechungen bleiben unberücksichtigt.“
Die zeitliche Grenze von sechs Monaten gilt nicht, wenn man sich maximal ein Jahr für einen privaten Besuch, zur Erholung oder zu einer Kur in Deutschland aufhält.

4. Was passiert, wenn ich meinen Wohnsitz aufgebe?

Sofern Sie weder einen Wohnsitz noch einen gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt mehr in Deutschland haben, Sie jedoch inländische Einkünfte (z. B. aus Vermietung) erzielen, unterliegen Sie zukünftig der beschränkten Steuerpflicht.

Sofern auch dies nicht vorliegt, sind Sie grundsätzlich nicht mehr in Deutschland steuerpflichtig. Allerdings kann in manchen Konstellationen dennoch eine Steuerpflicht entstehen (z. B. aufgrund des Außensteuergesetzes), sodass stets eine Abklärung durch einen Experten notwendig ist.

Des Weiteren sind einige steuerliche Begünstigungen, wie z. B. das Kindergeld, an die unbeschränkte Steuerpflicht geknüpft. Diese entfallen bei Aufgabe entsprechend.

5. Ich habe mich in Deutschland abgemeldet. Habe ich damit auch meinen steuerlichen Wohnsitz aufgegeben?

Nein. Das bloße Abmelden eines Wohnsitzes im Melderecht führt nicht dazu, dass steuerlich kein Wohnsitz mehr unterstellt wird (vgl. steuerlicher Wohnsitz).

6. Bekomme ich im Ausland Kindergeld?

Die Kindergeldberechtigung ist grundsätzlich an die unbeschränkte Steuerpflicht gebunden. Sofern Sie also Ihren Wohnsitz beibehalten, sind Sie weiterhin kindergeldberechtigt. Bei Aufgabe des Wohnsitzes entfällt die Kindergeldberechtigung, sofern Sie nicht sozialversicherungspflichtig beschäftigt sind.

Bitte beachten Sie aber, dass Sie auf jeden Fall Ihre zuständige Familienkasse über die Wohnsitzverlegung ins Ausland informieren.

7. Muss ich als Ausländer in Deutschland Kirchensteuer bezahlen?

Sofern Sie einer steuerberechtigten Religionsgemeinschaft angehören, müssen Sie Kirchensteuern bezahlen.

Sind Sie evangelisch, besteht eine Kirchensteuerpflicht nur, wenn Sie die Mitgliedschaft in einer evangelischen Kirche in Deutschland erklären.

Sind Sie hingegen römisch-katholisch getauft, sind Sie in Deutschland kirchensteuerpflichtig, da es sich bei der römisch-katholischen Kirche um eine globale Universalkirche handelt. Hierfür ist es unerheblich, ob Sie die Mitgliedschaft in Deutschland erklären oder ob die römisch-katholische Kirche in Ihrem Heimatland Kirchensteuern erhoben hat.

8. Registrierung als Steuerausländer bei Ihrer Bank

Wenn Sie in Deutschland nicht mehr unbeschränkt steuerpflichtig sind, gelten Sie als Steuerausländer. Dies sollten Sie Ihrer Bank mitteilen, da somit in vielen Fällen auf einen Kapitalertragsteuerabzug auf Ihre Kapitaleinkünfte vermieden werden kann.

9. Welche Bedeutung hat der Lebensmittelpunkt bei Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen?

Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen regeln die Besteuerungszuweisung zwischen zwei Staaten. Hierbei wird von einem Ansässigkeitsstaat und einem Tätigkeitsstaat ausgegangen.

Ansässigkeitsstaat ist der Staat, in dem Sie über einen Wohnsitz verfügen. Verfügen Sie jedoch über einen Wohnsitz in beiden Staaten, gilt der Staat als Ansässigkeitsstaat, in dem sich Ihr Lebensmittelpunkt befindet. Hierbei werden die gegenwärtigen und zukünftig angedachten wirtschaftlichen und persönlichen Kriterien bewertet, wobei eine stärkere Gewichtung auf letzteren liegt.

10. Ich bin ins Ausland entsandt. Bin ich trotzdem weiterhin in Deutschland steuerpflichtig?

Das kommt drauf an. Sofern Sie weiterhin über einen Wohnsitz oder einen gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt in Deutschland verfügen, unterliegen Sie weiterhin der unbeschränkten Steuerpflicht. Sofern Sie weder einen Wohnsitz noch einen gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt mehr in Deutschland haben, Sie jedoch inländische Einkünfte (z. B. aus Vermietung) erzielen, unterliegen Sie zukünftig der beschränkten Steuerpflicht.

Sofern auch dies nicht vorliegt, sind Sie grundsätzlich nicht mehr in Deutschland steuerpflichtig. Allerdings kann in manchen Konstellationen dennoch eine Steuerpflicht entstehen (z. B. aufgrund des Außensteuergesetzes), sodass stets eine Abklärung durch einen Experten notwendig ist.

11. Wo versteuere ich bei einer Entsendung mein Gehalt?

Grundsätzlich hat der Tätigkeitsstaat das Besteuerungsrecht. Dies gilt jedoch nicht, sofern

  • die 183-Tage-Grenze nicht überschritten ist,
  • der Arbeitslohn nicht von oder für einen Arbeitgeber gezahlt wird, der im Tätigkeitsstaat ansässig ist und
  • der Arbeitslohn nicht von einer Betriebsstätte getragen wird, die der Arbeitgeber im Tätigkeitsstaat unterhält.

Die Beurteilung der 183-Tage-Grenze ist von DBA zu DBA individuell und kann entweder auf das Steuerjahr, das Kalenderjahr oder einen 12-Monatszeitraum bezogen sein.

Sind diese Bedingungen kumulativ erfüllt, fällt das Besteuerungsrecht zurück auf den Ansässigkeitsstaat.

Auch hier gibt es in vielen DBA Besonderheiten wie z. B. für Grenzgänger, Aufsichtsräte, leitende Angestellte oder auch bei generellen Rückfallklauseln.

Bei der Zählweise der Tage müssen Sie darauf achten, dass die tatsächlich im jeweiligen Staat verbrachten Tage gezählt werden. Waren Sie z. B. vom 01. März bis 31. August (184 Tage) in Frankreich, überschreiten Sie die 183 Tage. Ein etwaiger zwischenzeitlicher Urlaub in einem anderen Land ist hiervon jedoch abzuziehen!

12. Ich war weniger als 183 Tage im jeweiligen Land. Versteuere ich weiterhin in Deutschland?

Nein. Wie hier dargestellt, ist die 183-Tage-Grenze nur eine von drei Bedingungen, die erfüllt sein müssen.

13. Ich war länger als 182 Tage im jeweiligen Land. Versteuere ich im Ausland?

Sofern keine Ausnahmeregelung greift, grundsätzlich ja.

14. Was bedeutet Progressionsvorbehalt?

Progressionsvorbehalt bedeutet, dass bestimmte Einkünfte zwar steuerfrei sind, diese jedoch in die Ermittlung Ihres individuellen Steuersatzes einbezogen werden. Sie erhöhen also Ihren Steuersatz, der letztlich auf die in Deutschland steuerpflichtigen Einkünfte angewandt wird.

15. Was ist der Auslandstätigkeitserlass?

Der Auslandstätigkeitserlass (ATE) gewährt unbeschränkt steuerpflichtigen Arbeitnehmern, die für ihren inländischen Arbeitgeber vorübergehend für mindestens drei Monate in einem ausländischen Staat tätig sind, mit dem kein Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen besteht, die Steuerfreiheit des Arbeitslohns.

Begünstigt sind nur Tätigkeiten, die im Zusammenhang mit der Aufstellung oder Instandhaltung von Wirtschaftsgütern, dem Aufsuchen oder der Gewinnung von Bodenschätzen, der Entwicklungshilfe oder der Beratung in den zuvor genannten Bereichen stehen.

Vermögens- und Nachfolgeplanung

1. FORMALIEN

a. Muss ich meine Erbschaft/Schenkung dem Finanzamt anzeigen.

Auch wenn die Freibeträge bei einer Schenkung bzw. Erbschaft nicht überschritten werden, muss jeder Erwerb innerhalb einer Frist von drei Monaten nach Kenntnis über den Vermögensanfall dem zuständigen Finanzamt angezeigt werden. Bei einer Schenkung gilt dies sowohl für den Schenker als auch für den Beschenkten.

Die Anzeigepflicht besteht jedoch nicht, wenn der Erwerb auf einer von einem deutschen Nachlassgericht oder einem deutschen Notar eröffneten Verfügung von Todes wegen beruht, da das Finanzamt in diesem Fall durch diese Stellen informiert wird.

b. Muss ich eine Erbschaftsteuererklärung abgeben? / Muss ich eine Schenkungsteuererklärung abgeben?

Zunächst sind Sie nur verpflichtet, die Schenkung / das Erbe dem Finanzamt gegenüber anzuzeigen . Eine Pflicht zur Abgabe der Erbschaftsteuer- oder SchenkungsteuererklärungSchenkungssteuererklärung besteht hingegen erst nach Anforderung durch das Finanzamt.

Allerdings kann z. B. aufgrund des Wohnsitzes, der Staatsangehörigkeit oder ausländischen Vermögens (z. B. Beteiligung an geschlossenem ausländischem Fond), auch eine Steuerpflicht im Ausland entstehen. Insbesondere die USA haben sehr strikte Fristen die mit hohen Bußgeldern bewehrt sind.

c. Wie erfährt das Finanzamt, dass ich geerbt habe?

Viele Behörden und Institutionen wie Banken, Standesämter, Gerichte und Notare sind verpflichtet, dem Erbschaftssteuerfinanzamt eine entsprechende Meldung zu machen. Außerdem kann das Erbschaftssteuerfinanzamt selbst Informationen einholen.

d. Welches Finanzamt ist für Erbschaftssteuer zuständig

Viele örtlich zuständige Finanzämter haben ihre fachliche Zuständigkeit für die Erbschaft- und Schenkungsteuer abgegeben. So ist für Frankfurt am Main das Finanzamt Fulda zuständig. Die Zuständigkeiten für Hessen können unter nachfolgendem Link abgerufen werden:

https://service.hessen.de/html/Ansprechpartnersuche-7652.htm

2. BERECHNUNG DER ERBSCHAFT-/SCHENKUNGSTEUER

a. Welche Steuerklassen gelten für die Besteuerung von Erbschaften und Schenkungen?

Je nach dem persönlichen Verhältnis des Erwerbers zum Erblasser beziehungsweise Schenker wird zwischen drei Steuerklassen unterschieden:

Steuerklasse I:    Ehegatte, der eingetragene Lebenspartner, Kinder und Stiefkinder sowie die Abkömmlinge dieser Kinder und Stiefkinder, Eltern und Voreltern bei Erwerben von Todes wegen;

Steuerklasse II:   Eltern und Voreltern bei Schenkungen, Geschwister und Geschwisterkinder, Stiefeltern und Schwiegereltern, Schwiegerkinder, geschiedene Ehegatten;

Steuerklasse III:  alle übrigen Erwerber.

b. Wie hoch sind die Steuersätze bei der Erbschaft- und Schenkungsteuer?

Die Steuersätze sind abhängig von den Steuerklassen und betragen bei der Steuerklasse I zwischen 7 % und 30%, bei der Steuerklasse II zwischen 15% und 43% und bei der Steuerklasse III zwischen 30% und 50%.

https://www.gesetze-im-internet.de/erbstg_1974/__19.html

c. Wie hoch sind die Freibeträge bei der Erbschaft- und Schenkungsteuer?

Ehegatten und Lebenspartner haben einen Freibetrag von 500.000 € und Kinder von 400.000 €.

Des Weiteren gibt es zahlreiche sachliche Steuerbefreiungen wie z. B. für Hausrat, andere bewegliche Gegenstände (z. B. PKW) oder das Familienheim.

Die Freibeträge für weitere Erbwerber können unter nachfolgendem Link abgerufen werden:

https://www.gesetze-im-internet.de/erbstg_1974/__16.html

d. Sind bei der Berechnung der Erbschaftsteuer oder Schenkungsteuer auch frühere Schenkungen zu berücksichtigen?

Bei der Berechnung der aktuellen Steuer, egal ob Erbschaft- oder Schenkungsteuer, sind sämtliche Vorschenkungen, die Sie von der gleichen Person in den letzten zehn Jahren erhalten haben, einzubeziehen.

e. Kann ich die Erbfallkosten in der Erbschaftsteuererklärung absetzen?

Ja, die Erbfallkosten wie z. B. Beerdigungskosten, Gerichtskosten, Steuerberatungskosten, Gutachtenkosten können als Nachlassverbindlichkeit in der Erbschaftsteuererklärung abgezogen werden. Da das Gesetz für Erbfallkosten eine Pauschale von 10.300 € vorsieht, müssen Sie die Kosten nur erklären, sofern sie diesen Betrag übersteigen.

3. ERBSCHAFTSTEUERPLANUNG UND NOTFALLMASSNAHMEN

a. Gibt es Möglichkeiten die Erbschaftssteuer zu reduzieren oder gar zu vermeiden?

Ja! Rechtzeitige Planung vorausgesetzt, lässt sich die Steuerbelastung häufig sehr stark minimieren oder in manchen Fällen gar ganz vermeiden. Dies kann über entsprechende Testamentsgestaltungen, optimale Ausnutzung von Steuerbefreiungen, wiederholte Schenkungen über einen längeren Zeitraum oder andere Möglichkeiten erfolgen.

b. Wann sollte mit der Nachfolgeplanung begonnen werden?

Je komplexer und umfangreicher das Vermögen und die Familiensituation ist, desto früher muss mit der Planung begonnen werden. Hierbei kann in jungen Jahren nur eine Notfallsituation geregelt werden, wohingegen mit spätestens Mitte Fünfzig die Planung der Vermögensnachfolge aktiv angegangen und, bei Bedarf, mit ersten Schritten umgesetzt werden sollte.

c. Ich habe Schwarzgeld geerbt - was muss ich tun?

Zum einen sind Sie verpflichtet, die hinterzogenen Einkünfte gegenüber dem Finanzamt nachzuerklären und die hinterzogene Einkommensteuer nachzuzahlen. Zum anderen müssen Sie das Schwarzgeld auch in der Erbschaftsteuererklärung angeben und, sofern der Freibetrag überschritten ist, Erbschaftsteuer darauf zahlen.

Wenn Sie der Nacherklärung nicht nachkommen, machen Sie sich selbst der Steuerhinterziehung schuldig.

d. Kann ich auch nach Eintritt des Erbfalls noch steuerlich optimieren?

Vorausgesetzt Sie handeln schnell und nehmen, z. B. durch entsprechendes Handeln, die Erbschaft noch nicht an, bieten sich auch nach Eintritt des Erbfalls noch häufig Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten.

Insbesondere das beliebte und häufig eingesetzte Berliner Testament kann zu erheblichen Steuernachteilen führen, die jedoch auch nach dem Tod des ersten Ehegatten noch häufig minimiert werden können.

4. ERBSCHAFTSTEUER/SCHENKUNGSTEUER UND AUSLAND

a. Bin ich in Deutschland als Ausländer steuerpflichtig

Sofern der Erblasser oder Erbe, bzw. Schenker oder Beschenkte seinen Wohnsitz  oder gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt  in Deutschland hatten, so unterliegt der gesamte Nachlass der deutschen Erbschaftssteuer. Auf die Staatsangehörigkeit kommt es dabei nicht an.

Aber auch deutsche Staatsangehörige die vor weniger als fünf Jahren ihren deutschen Wohnsitz aufgegeben haben sind unbeschränkt steuerpflichtig.

Wer in Deutschland nicht unbeschränkt steuerpflichtig ist, ist im Hinblick auf sein inländisches Vermögen aber zumeist beschränkt steuerpflichtig.

b. Ich habe Vermögen im Ausland geerbt. Muss ich in beiden Ländern Erbschaftsteuer bezahlen?

Ob eine Besteuerung auch im anderen Staat greift, richtet sich zunächst nach dem nationalen Recht des jeweils anderen Staates. Ist dies der Fall, stellt sich die Frage, wie eine Doppelbesteuerung vermieden werden kann. Anders als bei den Ertragssteuern hat Deutschland nur mit wenigen Staaten Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen auf dem Gebiet des Erbschaft- und Schenkungsteuerrechts abgeschlossen. Daher besteht die Gefahr einer Doppelbesteuerung.

Sofern kein DBA besteht, kann in vielen Fällen die ausländische Steuer auf die deutsche Steuer angerechnet werden. Dies ist allerdings nicht immer und vor allem nicht immer im vollen Umfang möglich!

c. Mit welchen Ländern hat Deutschland Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen für die Erbschaft- und Schenkungsteuer?

Anders als bei den Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen zum Einkommen, hat Deutschland nur fünf Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen für Zwecke der Erbschafsteuer. Dies sind Dänemark, Frankreich, Griechenland, Schweiz und die USA. Nur drei davon, nämlich die Abkommen mit Dänemark, Frankreich und die USA, gelten auch für Schenkungen.

Des Weiteren beinhaltet das „normale“ DBA mit Schweden auch Regelungen für die Besteuerung von Erbschaften und Schenkungen.

* Die Sachverhalte und Antworten, die wir hier dargestellt haben, sind aufgrund der hochkomplexen und verschachtelten Materie teilweise stark vereinfacht. An dieser Stelle kann daher nur eine grobe und unverbindliche Erläuterung gegeben werden. Jeder einzelne Sachverhalt ist stets im Detail individuell zu analysieren und zu beurteilen.

footerlogo